
INNS AND CATHEDRALS
released in 2002

EXTRA PIECES
18 new land tiles 
6 big followers (one for each colour)1

ADDITIONAL RULES

1. Place a tile
The new land tiles are placed in the usual way. Take care with the following tiles:2

2. Deploy a follower
Instead of deploying a small follower, a player may now 

decide to deploy his or her big follower. This counts as  one 
follower and is  deployed according to the usual rules.3 During 
scoring, however, the big follower counts as if the player had 
deployed two normal followers to the road, city, cloister or 
farm in question.4

Like any other follower, the big follower is returned to the player after scoring, 
and can be deployed again in the next turn. If the big follower is deployed as a 
farmer, it remains on the farm until the end of  the game, just like other farmers.5

3. Score completed roads, cities or cloisters
A completed road 
If a road which has one or more inns lining it is  completed, then the thief scores 2 points for every road 

segment, according to the number of tiles. However, if such a road has not been completed at the end of the 
game, it scores no points during the final scoring.
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This tile has four 
unconnected 
city segments.

The cloister 
divides the road 
into two segments.

The crossing 
divides the road 
into two segments.

Thieves may 
not be placed 
here.

The inn lies on 
the right-hand 
road segment.

The farm 
comes to an 
end here.

Only BLUE scores points for the road.

BLUE scores 6 points BLUE scores 6 points Incomplete road at the end of 
the game: BLUE scores 0 points



A completed city 
If a city which contains  one or more cathedrals is completed6, then the knight scores 3 points  for every city 

segment, according to the number of tiles, and 3 points for every pennant. However, if such a city has not been 
completed at the end of  the game, it scores no points during the final scoring.7

FOOTNOTES & FAQ

C a r c a s s o n n e  -  I n n s  a n d  C a t h e d r a l s  ( B i g  B o x  r u l e s )  -  V 1 . 2  ( 3 . 7 )! ! ! 2

C a r c a s s o n n e  ©  2 0 0 6  H a n s  i m  G l ü c k ,  t r a n s l a t i o n  a n d  n o t e s  b y  M a t t h e w  H a r p e r

1 In the Big Box, the sixth set of  followers and the point tiles are part of  the basic game, and are described there.

2 In the case of  the following tile, the Big Box set contains a more clearly drawn junction, as this comparison illustrates:

Original tile Big Box version

The original rules point out, as do the ones in the Big Box, that a thief may not be placed on the short roads leading from each city 
to the junction, but it is not at all clear on the original tile that the road which leads between the cities  is broken by the junction. The 
new tile is obviously meant to remind us that all junctions are considered to be ends of roads, and you are advised to follow this rule 

even when playing with the original tile.

3 These two sentences  offer clarifications not contained in the previous rules: that a big follower is only one follower, although it 

counts as two during scoring; and it may only be deployed instead of  a normal follower.

4 Question: Does a player with one of  the big followers score twice as many points?

Answer: No! The big follower is dealt with in exactly the same way as two small followers, and for two followers  in a city, on a road 
or on a farm, you only earn points once. The only function of the big follower is to obtain the majority more quickly. For example, 
in a cloister the big follower earns precisely the same number of  points as a smaller follower.

5 Question: [If  captured by a tower,] is the ransom for the big follower doubled?

Answer: No: he may be big, but he's still only one person.

6 Question: Am I allowed to place cathedrals in other players' cities?

Answer: Yes, that is allowed, and is  particularly useful towards the end of a game, when it can strip a large city of an opponent of 
points. The same goes for roads with inns.

7 The image below of the completed city with a cathedral is wrongly said to score 24 points in the Big Box rules. It covers  six tiles 

and has one pennant, scoring 7x3=21 points. The two city segments on a single tile only count as one segment.

BLUE scores 
21 points

Incomplete city at the end of the game:
BLUE scores 0 points



TILE DISTRIBUTION
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