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THE GAMES QUARTERLY EXPANSION

released in 2006

EXTRA PIECES

® 12 new land tiles including 1 pig-herd tile and 1 Quantity
spring tile.!

COMMENTS

As advertised, the GQ mini-expansion does contain ‘never-
before seen tile configurations’, with the exception of the tile
with a river and two city segments, which was previously
available in 7he River. Most of these ‘new configurations’ are
trivial enough, such as the removal of a pennant or trade
good, or a mirror-reversal of another tile. However, two of 1
the tiles deserve more comment.

The spring tile is obviously intended as a replacement
for those included in The River and The River II. One of the
common criticisms of those two expansions is that they lead

Quantity

to larger farms, and part of the reason is the farm goes all
the way around the spring - officially at least.> However, the
spring tile included here has a road leading away from the
spring, and so divides the farm.

No matter how many spring tiles you have you should
still only use one to form a single river.?

It should be noted that the ffff tile at the top of the
second column is not a pig-herd tile (see The Rwer II for more
details). I have been informed by John Sweeney that this has
been confirmed by Jay Tummelson of Rio Grande games.*

The reason for this is that, unlike all the other
expansions described here, the GQ Expansion is the product
of Rio Grande Games. It my be possible to use the tile as if 1
it were a pig-herd tile, but this would be a house rule, rather
than an official rule.’

FOOTNOTES & FAQ 1

I Thanks to Kevin Wood for the tile scans.

12

2 Question: Does the spring tile end a farm? Or does the farm go right around the spring?

Answer: Officially, the farm goes around the spring. So it is a connected farm.
This has been incorporated in to the RGG edition of 7#e Big Box, which includes 7The River (the HiG edition does not) and states

that “The field space on the lake and spring tiles wraps around those features.”

3 Question: When the two River sets are combined, should we make two rivers (using the two spring) or discard one spring and one
lake and make just one river?

Answer: One spring and one lake are discarded.

* Question: Do you have an official ruling? I understand from Hans im Gliick that these are your tiles rather than theirs, so I
guess you are the final arbiter!

Answer: Yes, I am - and this is just a field - no special points for the pigs and cows in it - sorry.

5 These comments are by Matthew Harper; the original GQ expansion contains no rules.
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